## 15<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference and First International convention of Society of Pharmacognosy

KLE University, Belgaum, Karnataka

(February 18-20, 2011)

## REPORT

Fifteen Annual Conference and First International convention of Society of Pharmacognosy was organized by KLE College of Pharmacy, KLE University, Belgaum, Karnataka during February 18-20, 2011. More than one thousand delegates from entire country including hundreds from Gujarat along with seven staff members from our college had attend the convention.

Inaugural function was immediately after breakfast. Dr Prabhakar B. Kore, Chancellor of KLE University had graced the over the function. Dr. Sanjiva Kholkute, director, NIRRH, ICMR, Mumbai and Prof Isadire Kanfer, emeritus Dean, and Professor of Pharmacy, Rhodes University, South Africa were the guest of honour. Dr. Malti G. Chaun was felicited by bestowing life time award for the year 2010 and Gujarat state branch was selected for Best branch for the year 2010 and award was offer to office bearers Dr. N. M. Patel (Modasa) and Dr. K. N. Patel (Ahmadabad).

Prof Vikash Sewram, Director-Oncology Research Unit & Cancer Research Initiative, MRC, South Africa had delivered Key note address on growing footprints of herbal medicines in public health: Positioning research towards evidence-based policy formulation council.

There were 25 lectures including 12 plenary delivered by seventeen foreign resource persons. Each lectures had chairman and cochairman. Dr N. M. Patel had extended his service as chairman in one of the lecture of foreign delegate. All the programs including cultural and dinners were in time.

The cultural program was representing item of all states of India like, Telugu, Tamil, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Mizoram, Rajsthan, Punjab, U. P., M. P. and Orissa. There was also show of fireworks and fountains.

The executive committee meeting of Society of Pharmacognosy was holds on February 19, after noon. After reviewing the previous meeting minutes, actions taken, activities of each states and accounts, new executive committee was reform. Professor Dr. V. K. Dixit from Sagar was unanimously selected as new president. Prof. Dr. N. M. Patel had assign duties as regional coordinator. Dr. K. N. Patel, Dr. R. K. Patel, Dr. N. R. Seth, Dr. S. H. Mishra and Dr. Vimalkumar from Gujarat were included in central executive committee of society of Pharmacognosy. Offer from the Department, Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Saurastra, Rajkot was unanimously accepted for next venue of the 16<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention of the Society.

Dr Shrivastv Patnala, the coordinator of scientific committee had informed that after careful scrutiny, research papers were accepted. There were more than 160 papers in poster presentation and 20 in oral presentation.

Valedictory function was arranged on the last day at 11-30 am. Prof, Roderick. B. walker, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Rhodes University, South Africa was the chief guest and Dr. Neeraj Tandon, Dy. Director General, ICMR; New Delhi had presided over the function. Many participants and delegates had express votes of thanks to the organizing committee for providing comfortable stay and delicious meal. Dr. F. V. Manvi, Dr. Jalalpure and their team really deserves thanks for arranging the program.





